top of page

Streets through time - High Street
No 63 Middle Cottage 
also known as Hoarwithy

17 HOARWITHY AND THE COTT HIGH ST.jpg

Above taken in the late 1960's. No 61 is on the left.

The building is described by Historic England as 3 houses c.1700 altered c1800 and remodelled c1830, with C20 alterations. This building is probably one of those refronted c1790-1820 by George de Ligne Gregory and remodelled in a picturesque style c1820-1840 by Gregory Gregory.

 

The main garden is to the front of the property with a small courtyard and outhouses at the rear. No 63 is the centre cottage. At one time, it appears that Nos 61 and  63 were combined into one residence as indicated by a 1970 map of the village. The combined cottages were known as Hoarwithy.

In the Estate sale of 1937, the tenancy of the three houses are noted as Messrs Naylor, Richmond and Mrs Green. At this time it is unclear as to who is living in what house.

At a later time, a Mrs Bailey lived here.

Lot 11 3 x Cottages.jpg

WIP - Further details to follow

bottom of page