top of page

Streets through time - High Street
No 61 
also known as Hoarwithy

17 HOARWITHY AND THE COTT HIGH ST.jpg

Above taken in the late 1960's. No 61 is on the left.

The building is described by Historic England as 3 houses c.1700 altered c1800 and remodelled c1830, with C20 alterations. This building is probably one of those refronted c1790-1820 by George de Ligne Gregory and remodelled in a picturesque style c1820-1840 by Gregory Gregory.

 

The main garden is to the front of the property with a small courtyard and outhouses at the rear. No 61 is the house on the left hand side of the building. At one time, it appears that 61 and the middle cottage No 63 were combined into one residence as indicated by a 1970 map of the village. The combined cottages were known as Hoarwithy.

In the Estate sale of 1937, the tenancy of the three houses are noted as Messrs Naylor, Richmond and Mrs Green. At this time it is unclear as to who is living in what house.

Lot 11 3 x Cottages.jpg

WIP - Further details to follow

Charles Crane (b 1891) lived here after retiring as Violet Van Der Elst's butler. Charles and his wife Nellie (b 1898) used to live in the Archway Lodge of the Manor while he was in service. Their daughter, Betty, married into the Madge family and now lives in Stroxton. His daughter in law is Janet Smith whose parents and son Stephen lived in the Forge. Her husband is John Crane and was a chauffeur.

IMG20230306124506.jpg
bottom of page